Why was Riyad Mahrez’s penalty ruled out?

FIFA’s Law 14 states: “After the players have taken positions in accordance with this (penalty) Law, the referee signals for the penalty kick to be taken.
“The player taking the penalty kick must kick the ball forward. He must not play the ball again until it is touched by another player.”
This is where Mahrez’s mistake was made. A slip from the 26-year-old as he was taking the penalty made the ball ricochet onto his standing – or should that be slipping – right foot.

why was the penalty not retaken? I personally think this law should be looked at all over again.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: